Five Key Books

Dawn isola bella_gnuckx - Version 2There’s something sinister about a list of Key Anythings.

That said, I did like the recent article in The Guardian listing the 50 key moments in English Literature from Marlowe to JK Rowling.

Not that I agreed with them, but it got me thinking about my key everythings—key movies, key books in my life, teachers, milestone moments, the birth of a child, moves to different cities, different jobs.

My list would be long and writing it, a little bit like navel gazing, the chart filled with little points on a line stretching off the page.

But there are a miles of books that have shaped me. These are my all-time top five:

  1. T.S. Eliot, Four Quartets
  2. James Joyce, Ulysses
  3. James Joyce, Portrait Of The Artist As A Young Man
  4. F. Scott Fitzgerald, The Great Gatsby
  5. William Faulkner, Absalom, Absalom!

Yours?

Photo: Dawn on Isola Bella. Credit: gnuckx (Flickr), Creative Commons.

Leave a Reply

